Frugal Photos 2

28 Feb

Keeping Warm

Here’s Gracia again…you’re gonna see a lot of her! This was a cold night, so she decided she wanted to color on the floor by the heater and with her “bed buddy” (one of those heating pads you microwave, they feel great on your toes!). I think we can all learn a lesson from this 2 year old…stay warm by hanging out in the warmest spot of the house. Turn your thermostat down just a little and get some socks, blanket, coffee or hot water bottle to keep you warm instead.

Nice and cozy!

Here’s another one, reiterating the same idea, cuddling up with a big blanket! (By the way, I just put another picture in the same post! I’m learning, yay!)

Here’s the book Gracia got for Daddy for Christmas all wrapped up in a map. He’s a pilot and always is having to buy new flight maps, as they expire really quickly. I hated seeing all those cool maps go into the trash, so I saved some and ended up using one to wrap his present with! And on a side note I didn’t end up having to buy any wrapping paper, ribbon or anything to wrap presents this last year! I had enough saved from previous years, and still have tons of gift bags left over!

Map Wrap

Gracia making (but mostly eating) egg salad

To the right is my last picture for now. It’s Gracia “helping” me make egg salad. This shows 2 frugal strategies: 1-Egg salad is a cheap sandwich filler 2-Cooking from scratch. It’s almost always cheaper to make something yourself than to buy the already made kind. But if you have a price list (mentioned in my shopping post) you can find out just how much your saving by making it yourself.

Hope you enjoyed the pictures…I think I’m gonna have to read up on some photography tips! =D

2 Responses to “Frugal Photos 2”

  1. Biz February 28, 2011 at 7:24 pm #

    Maps are a great idea for wrapping paper.. especially for a pilot! I’ve used brown paper bags before, and stamped or written on it, or just put a colorful bow.
    I love the pictures you’ve included! and Gracia is such a cutie 🙂

  2. purposelyfrugal March 1, 2011 at 10:32 am #

    That’s a great idea Biz! I’ll have to keep that in mind next Christmas!

Leave a Reply

