Groceries and Menus

1 Mar

the good bread for casserole

So I want to start posting my grocery lists (with photos of what I got to make it more interesting) and my weekly menu. But I just decided to start trying to buy groceries every other week, so there won’t be any grocery list this week.

The reason I want to do it every other week is to save time and to hopefully help me cut back a little more on spending. I’ll be spending less gas money, since I’ll be going less and since I tend to buy a couple little extras that aren’t on my list, I’ll only be buying those extras every other week. And it should encourage me to use up what I already have.

Here’s my menu for this week. I’m pretty flexible with this and just have ideas and ingredients for what I want to make. I don’t have exact days I’m planning on making them. I usually just decide what we’ll eat the day before or the day of.

Breakfast: Oatmeal, cream of wheat, toast, hard boiled eggs, banana muffins (if I get around to making them), smoothies

Lunches: Cameron’s been eating Cliff Bars and some fruit for his lunches lately. Gracia and I usually have leftovers or sandwiches (peanut butter and jelly, egg salad, turkey)

Snacks: Popcorn, mandrines, banana muffins, saltines with peanut butter, chips and salsa, raisins

Super:

  • Salmon patty sandwiches, steamed green beans and carrots, salad
  • baked potatoes with cheese sauce, broccoli and turkey(the cheese sauce is a new recipe from The Complete Tightwad Gazette, by Amy Dacyczyn)
  • Bean Burritos, chips and salsa, salad
  • Lentil and Rice Casserole (another new recipe from The Complete Tightwad Gazette)
  • Baked Omelet Casserole (my Mom just sent this recipe and in the nick of time. Last night I pulled out a loaf of bread only to see some lovely blue mold! So I cut off all the mold and will use the good part of the bread for this recipe, thanks Mom!)
  • I may have a leftover night, just have to see how many leftovers we have

The picture is the bread from the moldy loaf that wasn’t moldy. If I had tossed the whole loaf, all of that would be wasted in the trash.

Leave a Reply

