Recommended Reading

2 Mar

Here’s some blogs, websites and books that I really like. Pretty much everything I know I got from someone else.

Books:

  • The Tightwad Gazette, by Amy Dacyczyn. I’ve already mentioned this book, but I HIGHLY recommend it. I bought it at a used book store and just happened by it! Right now I have The Complete Tightwad Gazette, from the library. It’s the first book plus book #2 and #3 all put together! It’s amazing! Sadly I’m almost done with it. =( It has a huge variety of tips and not just little tips, but overall ideas and attitudes towards saving.
  • Miserly Moms, by Jonni McCoy. I looked through this a while back, and can’t remember too much about it, so I think I’m gonna check it out from the library again. (www.miserlymoms.com)
  • 1001 Ways to Cut Your Expenses, by Jonathan D Pond. I just finished looking through this one. It’s not my favorite, but has lots of ideas and is very easy reading.

Blogs and Sites:

  • Tiphero.com – I get an email weekly from them. They’re my favorite money tip site. And if you answer the question of the week you might win a $20 Amazon gift card (I won one right before Christmas and bought my hubby a book).
  • Frugalliving.about.com – I get emails from this site too, good practical stuff
  • www.stretcher.com – I get emails from these guys too. And they do a $100 giveaway every month for tips sent in.
  • tammysrecipes.com – I LOVE her recipes, cheap from scratch recipes, she also has some good articles on housewife things
  • thefrugalgirl.com – If you check out this blog, you’re never gonna want to come back to my cheesy pictures again! lol But seriously, she posts baking recipes, goodwill finds and pictures from her everyday life.

So what are some of your favorite books or sites? Please share!

4 Responses to “Recommended Reading”

  1. purposelyfrugal March 2, 2011 at 9:48 am #

    Oh! I forgot, I’ve also been checking out momsplans.com lately too!

  2. Laurie Steel March 2, 2011 at 12:21 pm #

    Hi Katie,

    Kuddos to you for starting a blog! I thoroughly enjoyed reading it and love your money saving ideas! You are such a quality lady and have a beautiful family. I was encouraged by the reading so please don’t give it up!

    Love you! Laurie

  3. Jen April 6, 2011 at 8:39 pm #

    Another great site I found:
    http://www.marketamerica.com/jingalls
    Get cash back for shopping online.

Leave a Reply

