A Grate Way to Save Cookies

5 Mar

This is another Amy Dacyczyn idea, but I tried it for the first time today.

I made some oatmeal cookies and I burnt a couple. I take partial blame, but in my defense my oven cooks very hot in the middle, and I can’t really move the cookie sheets around any (it’s a really small oven).

Anyways…I hate to waste a couple of cookies, so I tried something I read in The Complete Tightwad Gazette. I simply used a grater to scrape off the black. And as you can see in the pictures, it worked! Now I probably still wouldn’t serve a grated-off burnt cookie to company, but just for us it works! Waste not want not!

Before

After

3 Responses to “A Grate Way to Save Cookies”

  1. Mom March 6, 2011 at 4:38 am #

    What a “grate” idea! Never thought of it!

  2. Mom March 8, 2011 at 10:19 am #

    OK, so I burned some cookies today just so I could try this! Just kidding, but I did burn some and it did work nicely!

  3. Biz March 9, 2011 at 10:02 am #

    You’re so clever Katy! I thought “Grate” was a typo in your title at first 😛 I never thought to try this with cookies… Thanks for the tip!
    I have uses a butter knife to scrape off grilled cheese if I’ve let it cook too long and starts getting blackened!

Leave a Reply

