Lessons in Laundry: More Ways to $ave

8 Mar

Here’s some more ways to save on laundry, other than hanging out your clothes, because lets face it sometimes you can’t. Whether you don’t have a place to hang your clothes, the weather’s bad or you’re just in a hurry. So here’s some other ways to save on your laundry:

Detergent:

  • Go for the cheap kind. I buy the Sam’s club store brand, and it does a fine job.
  • Use a little less then called for. This may sound weird, but I encourage you to just try it. The worst that could happen is that your clothes come out dirty and you have to rewash them and never try this frugal tip again. But if you don’t notice a difference in the cleanliness of your clothes you can stretch your detergent a lot longer!
  • Some people make their own laundry detergent and it’s supposedly really cheap, but I’ve never tried this, so can’t really give you any tips on it.
  • If using liquid detergent. Keep the bottle upside-down when it starts to get low. Then when it’s almost gone, shake it up with some water to get it all out.

Dryer Sheets:

  • There’s always the option of simply not using them. I rarely use them.
  • If you do want to continue using them, cut them in half or
  • Reuse them a few times

Fabric Softener:

  • Don’t use it (I never have, but maybe I don’t know what I’m missing)
  • Use  a little less then recommended

Wash big loads, after all you’re using the same amount of electricity whether it’s a big load or a small one, so try to do fewer big loads rather than multiple small ones. And it can be a time saver too!

Do the short cycle on your washer, unless the clothes are really dirty. Or if you want your clothes to soak awhile, wait until the dryer fills up with soapy water and just keep the lid open so the clothes can soak , for as long as you want. Then close the lid and let it finish washing.

Keep an eye on your dryer. If you’re drying your clothes on a timer, keep checking them. You don’t want to be paying for electricity that’s just tossing around already dried clothes.

Anybody else have some good ways to save money on laundry?

6 Responses to “Lessons in Laundry: More Ways to $ave”

  1. Laurie Steel March 8, 2011 at 9:26 am #

    Since we can’t get drier sheets, when I have something with static cling or something that needs a nice fragrance I put a little fabric softener in a pail with a bit of water and wet a washrag, wring it out and throw it in with my load in the drier. Uses just a little softener and cuts the static.

  2. Mom March 8, 2011 at 10:20 am #

    I like Laurie’s idea! I think you have a typo, you say to keep the dryer lid open until you have a full load, but I think you meant the washer lid.

  3. Corley Kresta March 9, 2011 at 9:36 am #

    Katy, I didn’t know I was being frugal but I’ve washed a large load of clothes with approx. 1 Tablespoon of Tide for years. After all, our clothes seldom get really dirty and that is sufficient. Also, like you I don’t use dryer sheets or fabric softner. I used to but I discovered it made the bath towels less absorbent. Now I use a knobby plastic ball I bought at Ace (2 for $8)to soften the clothes. Works like a charm and you can use it forever!

    • purposelyfrugal March 9, 2011 at 9:44 am #

      I’ve seen those ball things, but never tried them before. Sounds like they’re a better deal!

Leave a Reply

