Recipe: Taco Meat

9 Mar

Here’s an economical way to stretch hamburger meat.

Stretched Taco Meat

Ingredients:

  • Hamburger meat (I used about 2 1bs.)
  • Already cooked or canned beans (I used about 3 cups of black beans)
  • Chopped onion
  • Finley chopped potatoes (I used 2 really small ones that had alien looking eyes growing on them, but I cut off the eyes, of course!)
  • Seasonings: garlic powder, chili powder, cumin, paprika, cayenne pepper, black pepper, salt

Just cook the potatoes and onion with the hamburger meat and once it’s all cooked throw in the beans (make sure to drain them) and seasonings.

The joy of this recipe is you can make it how you like it. Make it as spicey as you want. Other things you can throw in are chopped bell peppers or corn.

It’s also a very versatile recipe. You can use it for burritos, quesadillas, nachos, tacos or taco salad.

Frugal Tip: Look for “Reduced for Quick Sale” meats when you’re at the store. I bought this meat for $2.22 a lb. instead of $2.78. More details on that here.

5 Responses to “Recipe: Taco Meat”

  1. Mom March 9, 2011 at 10:23 am #

    I put beans in my tacos, but never thought of putting in potatoes. Good idea! I still have taco seasoning from the states, but I bought it in the big Tones bottles from Sam’s rather than in the little envelopes.

  2. Mom March 9, 2011 at 10:24 am #

    I also put my leftover taco meat and beans in the freezer, then when I make chili I throw it in.

    • purposelyfrugal March 11, 2011 at 9:02 am #

      That’s a good idea! Sometime I want to make a post about using up leftovers, I may have to steal that idea!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Groceries & Reduced for Quick Sale « purposely frugal - March 11, 2011

    […] package the meat into 11 bags (one bag I put double the amount of meat in, to make a big batch of taco meat). I flatened the meat to make it easier to put in my little freezer. I layed it flat in the […]

  2. How to use up leftover « purposely frugal - March 18, 2011

    […] Taco Meat-tacos, nachos, quesadillas, burritos, […]

Leave a Reply

