Purpose for Frugality

16 Mar

I don’t want people to think that I’m frugal just because I’m strange. Even though I do enjoy the challenge of it (yeah, I know I’m weird that way), my husband and I have a bigger goal in mind than just being labeled tightwad freaks. But before I talk about OUR purpose let me cover some other good purposes.

If you don’t have a good reason to save money, you probably won’t save much. So if you’re trying to be more frugal decide what your goals are to keep  you focused and encouraged. A lot of people are trying to be more frugal to get out of debt as fast as they can. Some are saving to make a big purchase, like a house or car. You may want to save so you can have an emergency fund or maybe to have some money to help your kids through college. Or maybe you’re not even saving for yourself. Maybe you want to save so you can have more to give to others (gasp! be frugal just to give it away?).

As for me and my husband we have a few reasons for being tightwads, but here’s one of the biggies. Even before we were married we both wanted to go into foreign missions. We both were Missionary Kids (MKs) and saw the need for people to hear the gospel of Christ. At Bible school we heard so many stories of people that were not getting the opportunity we’ve had our whole lives to hear about God and read the Bible. And just so you know, a lot of these people don’t know ANYTHING about Christ. It’s not that they’re a little unclear, they’ve never even heard His name before. How could we know of the need and just ignore it?

So we are in pursuit of missions right now. The reason we aren’t on the field yet is because my husband would like to go into mission aviation. A lot of the locations that missionaries need to get to are only accessible by helicopter or airplane. Cameron has already gotten his private pilot’s license and instrument license. He is currently in his second semester at Airframe and Power Plant school (so he can work on planes). Soon he plans on starting his commercial training.

If you know anything about aviation, you know it’s expensive. So that’s why we’re living frugally, so we can afford the training he needs before heading to the field. If you ever feel like giving up your frugal efforts, remind yourself why you’re doing it. When I think of the people that barely have enough to eat, let alone medical help, or the Bible, I’m reminded not to give up.

Gracia Helping Daddy Push the Plane into the Hanger

2 Responses to “Purpose for Frugality”

  1. Biz March 16, 2011 at 11:57 am #

    Katy, it’s been so awesome to have seen you in this process over the past several years, and to see how you guys have stayed so focused and on track! Looking forward to seeing how God continues to lead your family and use your lives!
    PS – I LOVE the picture of Gracia helping her Daddy push the plane!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Purpose for Frugality (via purposely frugal) « Calgary Recreational and Ultralight Flying Club - March 16, 2011

    […] Purpose for Frugality (via purposely frugal) 16 03 2011 I don't want people to think that I'm frugal just because I'm strange. Even though I do enjoy the challenge of it (yeah, I know I'm weird that way), my husband and I have a bigger goal in mind than just being labeled tightwad freaks. But before I talk about OUR purpose let me cover some other good purposes. If you don't have a good reason to save money, you probably won't save much. So if you're trying to be more frugal decide what your goals are … Read More […]

Leave a Reply

