Recipe: Whole Wheat Bread

17 Mar

I got this recipe from my mother-in-law, who used to make it instead of buying bread. It’s healthy, yummy, and makes your house smell amazing!

  • 7 c. flour plus 1 (half whole wheat, half white or all whole wheat if you’re using gluten)

    My Little Baker Helping Me

  • 3 c. lukewarm water
  • 2 Tblsp. yeast
  • 1/2 c. oil
  • 1/2 c. honey
  • 1 egg, beaten
  • 1 Tblsp. salt

Combine flours. Whisk together remaing ingredients in seperate bowl. Add the extra cup of flour or enough to make kneadable. Knead about 7 min. Coat a bowl with oil, and the dough with oil. Cover with cloth and let rise in warm place. After doubled in size punch down. Put in 2-3 loaf pans, or make into rolls. Cover and let rise again until not quite doubled in size.

Bake in preheated 325 oven for about 30 min. or until brown and sounds hollow when tapped. (If doing rolls the time will vary). Remove from pan and let cool. If you want you can rub some butter on the top while still warm.

Sorry I don’t have any pictures of the actual loaves. I made some a couple days ago…but my loaves were kinda ugly, and I’m too proud to post a picture of them! I let the dough sit in the fridge over night before baking and while in the fridge the loaves got big bubbles in them. It all tasted fine, just wasn’t very pretty.

Frugal Tip: I thought I remembered my mother-in-law saying honey that’s not clear anymore and starting to crystallize can be used in baking. Since I had some like that I tried it and it worked just fine, so don’t throw out that old honey!

4 Responses to “Recipe: Whole Wheat Bread”

  1. Mom March 17, 2011 at 3:47 pm #

    I’d love a piece of your bread, warm from the oven!

  2. Biz March 17, 2011 at 8:15 pm #

    This sounds amazing. Will have to try it soon!

  3. purposelyfrugal March 22, 2011 at 7:35 am #

    Check out how Tammy from Tammy’s recipes uses hardened honey in baking: http://www.tammysrecipes.com/node/2575

    • Liz June 11, 2011 at 1:31 pm #

      I have nuked honey before when it’s crystalized, before using it for baking. Then it’s a little softer and easier to get out of the container.

Leave a Reply

