Clean on the Cheap:Windows

20 Mar

I’m finally starting my cleaning series! Today I’ll be talking about cleaning your windows and mirrors for almost nothing!

First of all, I’ve started using old newspaper instead of paper towels and am very pleased with the results! If you don’t get a paper ask around, you’ll probably find someone that just throws theirs out after reading it.

Recently I’ve made another change in my window cleaning. I needed more Windex, but instead of buying some, I made some! And it was SOOOO  easy! Just combine 1 gallon of water with 1/4 cup of white vinegar…that’s it! I mixed it up in an old milk jug and then filled up a dollar spray bottle. I have to admit I was kinda unsure about how good it would work, but it worked really well! I don’t think I’ll ever go back to Windex! Plus it doesn’t have any crazy chemicals in it!

The big 1 gallon of vinegar in the photo was under 2 bucks and using just a quarter of a cup for a whole gallon, this is definitely frugal! I have seen other Windex recipes that use more vinegar, but this works just fine for me.

Happy Cleaning!

One Response to “Clean on the Cheap:Windows”

  1. purposelyfrugal March 21, 2011 at 3:38 pm #

    I just tried this on our car windows. It worked great on them too!

Leave a Reply

