Small Space Living: Tour My Little Home

23 Mar

Okay, so here’s a tour of our 8 by 32 travel trailer we’re living in. We’re living here while my hubby goes to Airframe and Power Plant school. It’s one of the trailers that was made for Katrina victims and was being sold at a great price. We compared the cost of paying for the trailer plus paying lot rent at a trailer park and discovered that it would about equal the same amount as renting a very small apartment for 2 years. But with an apartment you can’t sell it when your done, so that’s why we’re living here!

So I’m going to give you a photo tour of my house and point out small space living tips and frugal tips along the way.

Master Bedroom

  • The biggest change we made here was to move the bed to one side. It was in the center, and one of the long wall cupboards and one of the nightstands was on the other side. It gave us tiny little walkways on each side and we decided it was wasted space. So now we have a bigger walkway on one side.
  • There is storage under the bed, but you have to pick up the mattress and it’s rather hard to do, so we only keep things under there that we don’t use everyday, like suitcases.
  • As you can see we have a curtain thing instead of a door. We usually just keep it open, it makes the house feel bigger.

Our "Office"

  • We got a little TV dinner table for our computer. We just sit on the bed when using the computer.

Living Room

  • The coach pulls out into a bed. And we have lots of things stored under and behind it. Pretty much anywhere we can put stuff we do!
  • You can also see in this picture that we use a lot of wall space. We have shelves and hooks for hanging coats, hats, the laundry hamper, and our moped helmets.

Kitchen

  • Here’s where the cooking happens! And speaking of cooking, I will not miss my tiny oven when we move!
  • I was going to take the dishes and drainer out of the sink for the picture, but figured this was a much more realistic picture of what it usually looks like. I wash my dishes in the right side of the sink and let them drip dry in the drainer which is set in the left side of the sink. I’d rather that than put the drainer on the only counter space I have.
  • If you have a small kitchen, be very selective of what you always keep on the counter. I only keep my utensil holder (nice if you don’t have a lot of drawer space) and pepper grinder out. They’re behind the stove out of the way.
  • Also, do you see my white/cork board? I love that thing and would recommend it to anyone who is forgetful!
  • We use the top of the fridge to keep my glass jars of flour, rice, beans, etc… It’s a nice out of the way space, and I think it gives a kind of country look.
  • We have a small trash can under the sink. The nice thing about a small one is that I never buy trash can liners, I just use grocery bags which fit in perfectly!

  • The shelf to the right Cameron put up. As you can see we have a few books and some flowers up there, but truthfully its pretty much just our catch-all shelf.
  • The biggest change we made here was taking the benches around the table out. They were big and bulky and had really ugly cushions, so we took them out and bought 3 folding chairs. We always have 2 chairs out and one folded up. We just get it out at meal time, then put it back afterwards, or else I start tripping over it.
  • The cupboard across from the fridge was for clothes, but we were able to fit our clothes in the other closet (on other side of fridge) so my hubby took the rod out and we used the rod to hang up the curtain over Gracia’s bed. Then he put shelves in the closet for me to use as a pantry (see next photo).

My Pantry

  • The basic rule here is, the more I use something the closer to the front and center it goes, and the less I use it the farther back and up or down it goes.
  • With this pantry I am able to buy in bulk, but I have to be selective. For example buying several hot sauce bottles, doesn’t take up much space, but buying a giant sack of rice does, so I don’t buy giant sacks of rice.
  • Notice the spice rack on the door, there’s another one on the other door too. Cameron put the tins on the door with Velcro. Isn’t that clever? I’ve seen similar things with a metal sheet and magnets attached to spice bottles.

Gracia's "House"

  • Gracia sleeps on the bottom bunk. (As you’ll see in another picture, we made the top bunk into storage space)
  • I bought the pink letter stickers from the dollar store and the purple curtain from Ross for a really good price.

Gracia in Her Bed

  • We used to keep all her books, toys and stuffed animals in her bed, since she only uses about half of the bed when she sleeps, but it got to be too much, so now it’s just her stuffed animals and babies in there. We’re always changing things if we get a better idea.
Top Bunk
  • This is the top bunk, directly over the opening to Gracia’s bed. The wood paneling you see on the left is leftover from the benches we took out of the kitchen. Cameron used it to separate this storage from the one in the bathroom (see last picture).
  • So here I keep games, toys, etc… I get the toy box down for Gracia when she wants to play.
Bathroom
  • Do you notice the little table on the counter? That’s actually a plant stand my Grandpa made for me. Cameron had the idea of putting it there to give us more shelf space in the bathroom.

Bathroom Storage

  • Okay, so this is the top of the bunk, now storage.  Cameron cut away that hole in the wall so we could easily get to it. He’s gonna put some framing around it. He also made that shelf, which adds a lot of space. (I love being married to a handy man!)
  • I keep toiletries, TP, paper towels, cleaning supplies, make-up, hair stuff, and the first aid kit up here.
  • Notice the basket to the left? I keep hand towels and wash cloths in it, and got if for 99 cents at Goodwill!

That is the end of my tour, maybe another time I’ll show you our yard and storage shed. You might have noticed that I didn’t have a lot of decorations up. I do have some pictures, just haven’t gotten around to hanging them yet. My first priority is what’s practical. And having lots of knick-knacks just isn’t practical here.

If you have any questions or ideas for small space living or frugal living email me at puposelyfrugal@hotmail.com

3 Responses to “Small Space Living: Tour My Little Home”

  1. Mom March 24, 2011 at 10:39 am #

    This is nice, we got to see more of your home than just the early pictures. I showed them to dad this morning. You have done a nice job with it. I’m going to try the sugar cookies sometime in your later post.

  2. Christina Campbell April 6, 2011 at 12:11 pm #

    I was bored on my lunch break and then I found your blog article. This was so attention grabbing that I was late in coming back to work. Can’t wait to share this with my coworkers!

  3. Annie from Pioneer Home June 25, 2011 at 9:03 am #

    I like your blog! How you live is very encouraging to see. We too lived ‘small’ when my husband was in school, although not quite the same way, but I know what its like to be restrained.:)

Leave a Reply

