How to Use Fewer Paper Towels

25 Mar

As we all know the more disposable things we use the more money we use. And the more that goes into the trash and to the dumpster, so this is also a “green” post. I don’t really want to use cloth toilet paper (yes, I heard of a family that did use it!)…so here’s an easier product to cut back on, paper towels. Here’s how I’ve been able to cut back on them:

Use more rags and fewer paper towels

  • rags – I keep a container of rags under the sink (mostly old socks) for cleaning with,
  • newspaper – I use old newspaper to clean windows and mirrors, it works great!
  • cloth napkins – If you use paper towels in place of napkins, I encourage you to buy some cloth napkins or just use any cloth
  • keep in an inconvenient place – This one may sound weird, but I really think it helps. Where used to live we had them conveniently on the wall above the kitchen counter, so they were easy to grab to dry your hands, or to clean a spill. Now I have them under the sink. A towel hanging on the stove is usually quicker to grab.

I still like having paper towels around for covering messy things in the microwave or cleaning up spilled milk, as I don’t want a sour milk smelling rag. But I’ve been able to cut back and therefore save more money!

Linked with Tammy’s Recipes/ Kitchen Tip Tuesdays. Check out her site for more kitchen tips and lots of great recipes!

4 Responses to “How to Use Fewer Paper Towels”

  1. Biz March 28, 2011 at 8:07 pm #

    We totally did the “put the paper towels in an inconvenient place” and it has saved us so much! I was used to using paper towels for everything… even just for drying my hands after doing dishes instead of using my dish cloth. But then I put my kitchen cloths in a more convenient place and moved my paper towels under the sink. After a couple of months it got me out of the habit, and I was able to move them back and now just use them sparingly! It saves a lot!

  2. Kim J. June 22, 2011 at 2:08 pm #

    I try to limit my use of paper towels to one roll per month. I use just for messy messes and those messes that will stain towels/dishrags. Haven’t found a good price on cloth napkins yet, but I’m working on it.
    As far as using cloth toilet wipes, I haven’t gone that frugal… yet!!

  3. Annie from Pioneer Home June 25, 2011 at 8:35 am #

    We don’t buy paper towels anymore. All those old sheets, towels, shirts replace paper towel real well and don’t cost money except for washing them clean enough to use in the kitchen. I wash them clean with clorox, give an extra rinse, and cut and tear up in small pieces and use as disposable paper towel. Works wonderfully!
    As for the cloth toilet paper, I know people who had outhouses used them, but we don’t have an outhouse, so I don’t plan on going that far!!!

  4. Tammy L June 28, 2011 at 10:30 am #

    Would you mind linking back to Kitchen Tip Tuesdays (this post was linked last week)? Thanks! 🙂

    Tammy

Leave a Reply

