Frugal Fitness #2: Running a 5k

27 Mar

So this weekend my husband and I ran our very first 5k! We’ve tried to get into the habit of running off and on, but when we had a race to prepare for it really helped us run more regularly and try to run faster. My husband is already signed up for another one.

What is frugal about this though? Most 5ks, 10ks, 1/2 marathons and marathons you need to pay for. Well that’s what drew me to this one! It was called “Blood-gusher”, cool name, huh? Anyways it was for United Blood Service and if you donated blood then your 5k fee was waived! So I donated blood for the first time a couple weeks ago….I’m embarrassed to say it but after they were all done taking my blood (I felt great during the process), my body decided to faint…yeah it was pretty humiliating…but hey I didn’t have to pay $20 to run!

Anyways…not all races are going to have ways to get by without paying, but if you feel it’s worth the money it really does help push you further. And usually the money goes to a good cause anyways. My husband is training to do a couple more 5ks then move up to a 10k, 1/2 marathon and maybe even a full marathon.

And remember going outside for a run is FREE! =)

3 Responses to “Frugal Fitness #2: Running a 5k”

  1. Mom March 28, 2011 at 12:20 pm #

    I forgot to ask you about the 5K. How did it go? Did you finish? Love, Mom

  2. purposelyfrugal March 28, 2011 at 6:09 pm #

    It went well, we finished in 34 minutes. Cameron could’ve finished a lot sooner than that, but he stayed with me the whole time.

  3. Liz Wagstaff April 14, 2011 at 6:16 am #

    It must be a Crane thing (the fainting bit I mean)…I can totally relate! 🙂

Leave a Reply

