Groceries/Menu

5 Apr

Well yesterday was a big grocery day. And last week I went to Sam’s and bought some stuff (including reduced for quick sale whole chickens).

Here’s how I saved at HEB today:

All My Groceries for This Week

  • $8.11 –  Buying the Generic Brand
  • $3.40 – On Sale items (cantaloupe, pears, jelly)
  • $6 – Coupons (I bought 5 Tabasco bottles with 50 cents off each coupons, TP coupon from internet combined with HEB coupon, and coupon for mascara)

Total Savings: $17.51

Total Spent: $103.21 (this is including some non-food items, and is high, but usually my first shopping of the month is the highest, I tend to stock up more)

There was another way that I saved yesterday that’s not recorded on my receipt. I was really wanting some Nutella. If you’ve never had it, it’s the most amazing chocolate hazelnut spread, that I love eating on toast! The only problem is it’s kinda pricey. So while at the store I grabbed a $6 jar of it, but while my groceries were ringing up and totaling over $100 I decided to wait on the nutella and just eat peanut butter on my toast. Maybe it’ll go on sale sometime. One of the best ways to save is just to do without.

Meal ideas for the week:

Breakfasts: Oatmeal, fruit, toast, eggs, smoothies, cream of wheat

Lunches: Sandwiches (egg salad, chicken, cheese), leftovers, bean burritos

Suppers:

  • Burgers with tomato cucumber salad and homemade fries
  • Chicken patties with salad and sweet potatoes
  • Stir fry with Ramen noodles and peanut sauce (I’ve never made peanut sauce before)
  • Chicken and mole sauce with veggies and dip
  • Black bean quesadillas with salad and chips and salsa
  • Leftovers (I’ll probably have plenty of leftover burgers and chicken patties)

Snacks: popcorn, chips and salsa, fruit, veggies and dip, sunflower seeds, cheese, peanut butter on crackers, yogurt

What’s on your menu for the week? Maybe I’ll get some ideas for next week!

One Response to “Groceries/Menu”

  1. Karlton Greer April 6, 2011 at 8:24 am #

    I ❤ H.E.B

Leave a Reply

