Lessons in Laundry and Vinegar

11 May

Awhile back I was talking to my mom on the phone and somehow got on the subject of smelly t-shirts. She suggested that I either soak them in a water/vinegar solution or put some vinegar in the fabric softener spot of my washing machine, since vinegar is a deodorizer. I’ve tried both of those for extra smelly clothes. It’s easy and cheap. Here’s an expert about vinegar in laundry I got from  http://www.rd.com/home/150-household-uses-for-vinegar/6/ .

“There are so many benefits to be reaped by adding 1 cup white vinegar to your washer’s rinse cycle that it’s surprising that you don’t find it prominently mentioned inside the owner’s manual of every washing machine sold. Here are the main ones:

  • A single cup of vinegar will kill off any bacteria that may be present in your wash load, especially if it includes cloth diapers and the like.
  • A cup of vinegar will keep your clothes coming out of the wash soft and smelling fresh — so you can kiss your fabric-softening liquids and sheets good-bye (unless, of course, you happen to like your clothes smelling of heavy perfumes).
  • A cup of vinegar will brighten small loads of white clothes.
  • Added to the last rinse, a cup of vinegar will keep your clothes lint- and static-free.
  • Adding a cupful of vinegar to the last rinse will set the color of your newly dyed fabrics.”

All sound like good reasons to keep some vinegar close to your washing machine! =)

2 Responses to “Lessons in Laundry and Vinegar”

  1. Mom May 11, 2011 at 7:43 am #

    What????? I wasn’t enough of an expert? You needed another one? JUST KIDDING! Have you noticed a difference? I realized that I don’t use a whole cup worth, and I have a large capacity washer. I think I need to increase it. Mom

  2. Ruthie May 11, 2011 at 1:51 pm #

    I like to use a vinegar rinse on my hair. The smell dissipates after a few minutes but before it does I like to cuddle with my husband and ask him if he likes my “pickle head.”

Leave a Reply

