Recipe: Salad Dressing (with vinegar)

18 May

So far I’ve shared with you how to use vinegar in laundry, cleaning, washing windows, and even in cookies. But here’s another recipe that uses vinegar to make a delicious salad dressing. I got it from bigoven.com.

Lisa’s Garlic Parmesan Italian Salad Dressing:

  • 1 c. olive oil
  • 2 Tbs. fresh lemon juice
  • 1 Tbs. dried basil
  • 2 tsp. minced garlic
  • 1/2 Tbs. dried oregano
  • 1/2 Tbs. salt and pepper
  • 3 Tbs. red wine vinegar
  • 2 Tbs. Parmesan cheese
  • 1 tsp. agave nectar or sugar
  • 1 splash balsamic vinegar

Shake it all together and keep refrigerated. You’ll need to shake it before each use.

This is a great recipe, and I use it as my basic recipe, but I don’t follow it exactly. I usually grate some of the lemon peel in (figure I might as well use it!). I don’t have any basil right now, so that just gets skipped. I use white vinegar instead of red wine. And I don’t really measure the ingredients, I think I use way more than 2 Tbs. of Parmesan. =P

3 Responses to “Recipe: Salad Dressing (with vinegar)”

  1. Laurie May 18, 2011 at 7:58 am #

    Try blending it for a few minutes in the blender and it may not separate. That’s what I do with Italian Dressing.

  2. Mom May 18, 2011 at 8:04 am #

    Laurie suggested what I was going to suggest. Actually, I got the idea from Laurie! Now I always do it! Thanks, Laurie!

  3. purposelyfrugal May 19, 2011 at 7:14 am #

    That sounds like a good idea! I never thought of it!

Leave a Reply

