Butterfly Cake

24 May

It would have cost us at the very least $20 to buy an already made cake for Gracia’s birthday. But instead we made a butterfly cake, which we didn’t have to buy any fancy cake

Just need to decorate it now!

pan for or anything. The cake mix for the cupcakes, the icing and sprinkles were all free. My older brother sent them to me for my b-day, but I didn’t get around to making them, so I got to use them for Gracia’s birthday! The wings were a wacky cake recipe. And the jelly beans we used to decorate the cake with were leftover from Easter. Here’s the site we used to guide us.

  1. I simply made a round cake and made some cupcakes. I actually made a cake that didn’t come out of the pan right, so I had to make another one. I buttered and floured the pan really good then let it cool quite a bit before taking it out of the pan. Then let it cool all the way before we cut it.
  2. Once cool, cut the cake in half and place on whatever you’re going to be keeping it on (I used a big cookie sheet). Put the circle halves facing out for the wings, with cupcakes in the middle for the body of the butterfly.
  3. Then ice the cake and cupcakes.
  4. Then decorate! We used pipe cleaners for the antennas.

The finished cake!

Shared at Tammy’s Recipes for Kitchen Tip Tuesday.

4 Responses to “Butterfly Cake”

  1. SavvyP May 24, 2011 at 8:14 pm #

    What a great cake! I am sure Gracia really enjoyed it. I came here from AThriftyMom and I am glad I took the time to come over and see your cake project.

  2. Tammy L July 5, 2011 at 9:48 am #

    Looks beautiful! 🙂

  3. Laura July 5, 2011 at 2:52 pm #

    That is so cute! I have two little girl birthdays coming up at my house next month….time to get creative. I know one of them would love this butterfly cake, the other daughter likes hearts. 🙂

    Here from Tammy’s Recipes – Kitchen Tip Tuesday 🙂

Leave a Reply

