Problem Solved – A Story About Crumbs

27 Jun

We have a problem at our house, we eat a lot of corn tortilla chips. But the problem isn’t the ones we eat, its the ones we DON’T eat. It always seems like  a quarter of the chips get left behind in the bottom of the bag as crumbs. I like to use the crumbs as a topping on chili or chicken tortilla soup. The only problem is with all this over 100 degree weather, we haven’t been eating chili or soup. So I had this container of chip crumbs:

And I finally did something about them! First I ground them up in my food processor:

Then I used 3/4 cup in making meatloaf. I usually use bread crumbs made from leftover stale bread and crackers, but the tortilla chip crumbs worked just fine too! I put the rest of the crumbs in a bag in the freezer for the next time I need them. Sometime I want to try using them to bread chicken fingers with. Here’s an article I found with 10 ways to use up tortilla chip crumbs.

Linked at Kitchen Tip Tuesday’s at Tammy’s Recipes. Check out her site for more great kitchen tips. And check out her recipes too! I’ve tried several of them, so far I think my favorite has been her White Chili. Too bad it’s kinda hot weather for it. =(

Do you have any creative ways of using up chip crumbs?

4 Responses to “Problem Solved – A Story About Crumbs”

  1. ColoradoGirl June 27, 2011 at 1:40 pm #

    Well, your idea is much better than mine! I throw them out for the birds and squirrels.

  2. Tammy L June 28, 2011 at 10:31 am #

    Great tip! Do you have to reduce the salt in your recipe since the chip crumbs tend to be salty, or not? 🙂

    Would you mind adding a link back to Kitchen Tip Tuesdays, as well? Thanks 🙂

    Tammy

    • purposelyfrugal June 28, 2011 at 9:26 pm #

      I didn’t really measure the salt when I added it, but it probably would be a good idea to decrease it a little. And thanks for letting me link up on your blog, I feel so important having my link on your blog! =)

      • Tammy L July 5, 2011 at 9:48 am #

        Any time! Thanks for the great tip. 🙂

Leave a Reply

