Whole Wheat Honey Carrot Cake

2 Jul

Today is my amazing husband’s birthday! And every year he asks for the same kind of cake, honey carrot cake. It only uses honey as the sweetener, no sugar, and has some whole wheat flour in it, plus it’s got carrots, so it’s a healthier birthday cake. When he was a boy his mom always made it for him. So I thought I’d share the recipe:

Ingredients

  • 3/4 cup honey
  • 1 cup vegetable oil
  • 3 large eggs
  • 1 cup all purpose flour
  • 1 cup whole wheat flour
  • 2 teaspoons cinnamon
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 3 cups grated carrots
  • Nuts and raisins optional

Preheat oven to 350. Grease and flour one 13 by 9 in. pan or two 8 or 9 in. pans. (I did two small pans, and instead of stacking them later, just left them separate).

Beat honey, oil and eggs.

Add flour, cinnamon, baking soda, vanilla and salt.

Then add carrots, raisins and nuts. I just LOVE the bright orange color of the carrots! Pour into pan or pans and bake 30-40 minutes. Once cooled, ice it. Here’s what I used for my honey icing (sorry I didn’t measure the ingredeints):

  • Cream cheese (softened)
  • Honey
  • Butter (softened)
  • Milk

And in case you’re wondering, no Cameron did not turn 7. I didn’t have 28 candles, so I just made them into a “C” shape. Not quite as exciting as Gracia’s butterfly cake.

Leave a Reply

