June Grocery Challenge Results!

4 Jul

Happy 4th of July everyone!!

For the month of June I’ve been trying to keep my food groceries under $250. Here’s my results along with my non-food grocery results and eating out results for the month of June.

Food groceries:

  • goal $250
  • actually spent $253.10

Non-food groceries (shampoo, diapers for Gracia to sleep in, toilet paper, etc…)

  • goal $40
  • actually spent $36.79

Eating out (this counts any food bought at restaurants, convenient stores or gas stations)

  • goal $100
  • actually spent $119.87

I think I’m going to keep trying to keep our grocery bill around $250, which is exciting to me as I look back at my 2009 and 2010 records and see when we were spending $300-$360 on groceries! I think part of the change has been moving to a bigger town with more options for grocery stores. The town we were in before had pretty high grocery prices. And part of the change has also been the various strategies I’ve been trying to use to tackle our grocery budget.

I was actually under in the non-food groceries! πŸ™‚

The eating out is the area I’m the least pleased with, because we went the most over in it and it’s an unnecessary thing. But when I look back at how much we’ve spent in months past in eating out it’s a lot less, so at least it’s an improvement! πŸ™‚

Anybody else out there working on decreasing their grocery budget? How are you doing at it?

3 Responses to “June Grocery Challenge Results!”

  1. 8thpain July 4, 2011 at 10:21 am #

    So close

    • Liz Wagstaff July 6, 2011 at 6:32 pm #

      I’ve been keeping closer track of our spending in various categories, and tallying it up at the end of the month, and I was disappointed because we were over $100 in “dining and entertainment” as well, but I felt better when I saw that you were too, haha. πŸ™‚ So thanks for making me feel better! You are my standard in a way…I figure, ok, if I can stay close to how much Katy spends on food, etc., then I must be doing pretty good at staying wise and frugal, because I know that Katy does. πŸ™‚

      • purposelyfrugal July 6, 2011 at 7:12 pm #

        Well, you just made ME feel better!! =) If we both keep going over, we can both just keep making each other feel better! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

